The Abel Prize#

The Abel Prize
The Abel Prize is an international prize presented by the King of Norway to one or more outstanding mathematicians. Named after Norwegian mathematician Niels Henrik Abel (1802–1829), the award was proposed by Sophus Lie (1842–1899). The Abel Prize and the Fields Medal have often been described as the "mathematician's Nobel prizes" and are among the most prestigious awards in mathematics. The prize board has also established an Abel symposium, administered by the Norwegian Mathematical Society. The award ceremony takes place in the Atrium of the University of Oslo Faculty of Law, where the Nobel Peace Prize was formerly awarded between 1947 and 1989.

More information at The Abel Prize website

Academia Europaea Abel Prize Awardees#

  • 2021: Professor László Lovász, Hungary (shared with Avi Wigderson): "for their foundational contributions to theoretical computer science and discrete mathematics, and their leading role in shaping them into central fields of modern mathematics".
  • 2016: Sir Andrew J. Wiles, United Kingdom: "for his stunning proof of Fermat’s Last Theorem by way of the modularity conjecture for semistable elliptic curves, opening a new era in number theory"
  • 2012: Endre Szemerédi, Hungary/USA: "for his fundamental contributions to discrete mathematics and theoretical computer science, and in recognition of the profound and lasting impact of these contributions on additive number theory and ergodic theory"
  • 2008: Jacques Tits, France: "for profound achievements in algebra and in particular for shaping modern group theory"
  • 2006: Lennart Carleson, Sweden: "for profound and seminal contributions to harmonic analysis and the theory of smooth dynamical systems"
  • 2004: Sir Michael Francis Atiyah, United Kingdom: "for discovery and proof of the index theorem, bringing together topology, geometry and analysis, and their outstanding role in building new bridges between mathematics and theoretical physics"

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-7) was last changed on Friday, 15. October 2021, 11:12 by AcadAdmin
  • operated by